TATTOO

-

COVER-UP

Tattoo cover-up

underline

At the Zen Tattoo Studio, we work really hard so that you can show who you really are and what you love through body art. With time, your tastes and preferences might change and, just like you, your tattoo might change too. If you’re looking to cover an old tattoo or a recent one you didn’t really think through, the idea of a cover-up could be for you!

It is important to understand that there are multiple steps to follow before being able to cover a tattoo and not all ideas are possible to do. Therefore, we took into consideration your worries and your questions, because it is important for us that you feel comfortable and trustful to begin the cover-up process. Here’s what to consider before showing up to the studio for a consultation with one of our artists.

Coverup 3
Coverup 2

Is it possible?

underline

Any cover-up is possible if you allow your artist 100% artistic freedom, but many aren’t ready to allow such liberty to their tattooist. In that case, it is important to understand that it is not every style is suitable for a cover-up. You can forget the idea to cover a tattoo with an Ornamental style tattoo, such as mandalas or filigrees. Realism isn’t always the best choice either because you need a lot of space on the skin in order to incorporate important shadings and contrasts. We often suggest you choose an illustrative style, such as New School, Neo Traditional or Japanese.

A cover-up is well executed when there’s a full cooperation between the tattooist and the one tattooed. Normally, a cover-up has to be two to three times bigger than its original size and it has to be really opaque, saturated and dark in order to cover the tattoo that’s under. If you want to keep the same style as the original tattoo, there’s always a way to revamp it and give it a new look!

It’s important to understand that:

underline

1- The cover-up will be 2 to 3 times bigger and it will be darker than the original tattoo.

2- Each artist has his own way of doing a cover-up. It is possible that our vision doesn’t correspond to yours. That’s why it’s very important to research your artist accordingly to their style of tattooing.  

3- There are multiple constraints while doing a cover-up, not everything is possible and there is a possibility that your idea cannot work.

4- Skulls, crows, anything dark can cover your tattoo, but maybe you don’t want such ideas. You therefore need to do some research to find out what ideas you would like. 

5- We do not do cover-ups with mandalas, pale and delicate flowers nor realism. 

51632812_487303108469725_8637959851323875992_n
84165861_2671169953163853_133652484534042624_n

Our cover-up procedure:

underline

1- Do your researches on cover-ups! Google Image has multiple examples to show you ideas. In store, we will not tell you what you should get tattooed as we do not know what you like. You need to know what ideas would please you for your cover-up.

2- Send us a picture of your actual tattoo and send us pictures of what you would like to cover it with. We will tell you if one of our artists can meet you to discuss about the project.

3- Come to meet the artist for a consultation. The artist will check your ideas and verify that your project is doable. It is always possible for the artist to refuse the project if he thinks that the result will not be best.  

4- Be open minded, and let the artist create a cover-up accordingly to his style. This element is key to having a beautiful cover-up. If you have too many restrictions, the artist has nothing to play around with. KEEP IN MIND: Any cover-up is possible if you allow your artist 100% artistic freedom.

The tattoo to cover is too big and too dark?

underline

It is possible that the tattoo artist judges that the piece to cover-up is too big and too dark. In that case, you can consider laser tattoo removal to make your tattoo paler. Laser tattoo removal desaturate the colors in order to make it easier for the tattooist to do the new project.

Tattoo removal works with laser waves of different intensities to "burn" the pigment in the skin. Therefore, there will be a form of healing process to go through, after which you’ll be able to come back to the studio to book another consultation with the artist and discuss the new possibilities now that your tattoo is less opaque. Please note that we do not offer laser tattoo removal, we always refer our customers to a dermatology clinic or a professional parlor that offers this service.

Coverup 6
Coverup 5

Cover a scar?

underline

Many customers want to get tattooed directly on a scar in order to hide it completely. However, it is not always doable. We’d suggest you to pass by the studio to see the scar’s condition. We will be able to advise you whether you can consider a tattoo to cover it or whether it would be better to tattoo around it. By placing a well-designed image around a scar, it will make it less "flashy". A cover-up is always made in order to bring focus elsewhere than on what you want to hide.

TATOUAGE

-

COVER-UP

Cover-up tatouage

underline

Au Studio Zen Tattoo, nous travaillons très fort pour que vous puissiez faire transparaître qui vous êtes et ce que vous aimez à travers l’art corporel. Avec le temps, vos goûts et vos préférences peuvent changer et, tout comme vous, le tatouage peut changer et «vieillir». Si vous cherchez à recouvrir un vieux tatouage ou un tatouage qui ne vous convient plus, l’idée d’un cover-up pourrait être faite pour vous!

Il est important de comprendre qu’il y a plusieurs étapes à suivre avant de pouvoir couvrir un tatouage et ce ne sont pas toutes les idées qui sont possibles. Nous avons donc pris en considération vos questions et vos inquiétudes, car il est important pour nous que vous soyez confortable et en confiance pour débuter le processus d’un cover-up. Voici ce qu’il faut prendre en considération avant de vous présenter en magasin pour une consultation avec un artiste.

Coverup 3
Coverup 2

Est-ce possible?

underline

Tout cover-up est possible si vous laissez carte blanche à l’artiste, mais plusieurs ne sont pas prêts à laisser 100% carte blanche à son tatoueur. Dans ce cas il faut comprendre que ce n’est pas n’importe quel style qui est adapté pour le cover-up. Vous pouvez donc oublier l’idée d’un tatouage style Ornemental tels que les mandalas ou les fioritures pour couvrir une surface où il y a déjà une masse foncée. Le style Réaliste aussi n’est pas toujours un bon choix, car il faut beaucoup d’espace de peau pour y faire les contrastes. Souvent, nous conseillons un style plus « illustratif » comme le New School, Néo Traditionnel ou le Japonais.

Le cover-up est souvent réussi grâce à un effort collectif entre le tatoueur et le tatoué. Normalement, un cover-up doit être de deux à trois fois plus gros que le tatouage d’origine et il doit être assez opaque, saturé et foncé pour pouvoir bien cacher celui qui est en dessous. Si vous voulez rester dans le même style que le tatouage initial, il est possible de simplement le rafraîchir et lui donner une seconde vie!

Il faut comprendre que:

underline

1- Le tatouage sera minimum 2 à 3 fois plus gros et probablement plus foncé que ce que vous voulez. 

2- Chaque artiste voit les choses différemment : il est possible que notre vision ne corresponde pas avec la vôtre. C’est pour cela qu’il faut rechercher un artiste en fonction de son style.

3- Il y a plusieurs contraintes pour s’assurer du résultat et il est possible que ce que vous voulez ne fonctionne pas. 

4- Un crâne, un corbeau, quelque chose de foncé peut toujours fonctionner pour faire un cover-up, mais il est probable que ce ne soit pas ce que vous voulez. Il faut donc que vous fassiez vos recherches pour savoir ce que vous aimeriez. 

5- Nous ne faisons pas de cover-up avec des mandalas, des petites fleurs pâles (ou tout dessin pâle) ou du réalisme. 

51632812_487303108469725_8637959851323875992_n
84165861_2671169953163853_133652484534042624_n

Comment nous fonctionnons pour un cover-up :

underline

1- Faites vos recherches sur des exemples de cover-up selon ce que vous avez. Il y a plusieurs exemples sur Google Image. Nous ne suggèrerons pas des idées en studio pour vous, car nous ne connaissons pas vos goûts. C’est à vous d’avoir une idée de que vous voulez par-dessus. 

2- Envoyez-nous une image du tatouage à couvrir ainsi que des images de ce que vous aimeriez pour le couvrir. Nous vous dirons si un artiste du studio peut vous rencontrer pour discuter du projet. 

3- Rencontrez l’artiste pour une consultation. Ici, l’artiste vérifie vos idées et regarde ce qui est faisable selon le projet. Il est possible que l’artiste refuse le projet, car le rendu selon lui ne sera pas optimal.

4- Soyez ouvert d’esprit, et laissez l’artiste créer un cover-up selon son style. C’est souvent cela qui permet de faire un cover-up réussi. Si vous mettez trop de contraintes, le résultat ne sera pas optimal. NOTEZ QUE : tout cover-up se fait si vous laissez carte-blanche à l’artiste.

Trop gros et trop foncé?

underline

Il est possible que le tatoueur juge que la pièce à couvrir est trop grosse et trop foncée. Dans ce cas, vous pouvez considérer la faire pâlir en faisant des séances de détatouage au laser. Le détatouage permet de désaturer les couleurs dans le but de donner plus de facilité au tatoueur pour réaliser le nouveau projet.

Le détatouage fonctionne à l’aide d’ondes laser de différentes intensités pour aller « brûler » le pigment dans la peau. Vous aurez donc une période de guérison à respecter après la séance. Par la suite, vous pouvez revenir en magasin pour fixer un nouveau rendez-vous de consultation avec un tatoueur dans le but de discuter des nouvelles possibilités qui s’offrent à vous maintenant que le tatouage est moins opaque. À noter que nous n’offrons pas de services de détatouage, nous dirigeons toujours nos clients vers une clinique de dermatologie ou un studio professionnel qui offre ces services.

Coverup 6
Coverup 5

Couvrir une cicatrice?

underline

Plusieurs clients veulent se faire tatouer directement sur une cicatrice dans le but de la cacher complètement. Cependant, ce n’est pas toujours faisable. L’idéal est de passer en magasin pour voir l’état de votre cicatrice. Nous allons pouvoir vous conseiller à savoir si vous pouvez considérer un tatouage pour la couvrir ou s’il serait préférable de tatouer autour. En plaçant une image bien conçue autour d’une cicatrice, elle sera moins «tape-à-l’œil».  Le cover-up est toujours fait pour amener le focus ailleurs que sur ce que vous voulez cacher.