TATTOO

-

TATTOO STYLE

Japanese
New School – Cartoon
Neo Traditional
Ornamental
Blackwork
Dotwork
Lettering
Old School – Traditional
Linework – Minimalist
Realism
Japanese

JAPANESE

underline

The beauty of Japanese tattoo is that everything is coded in symbols, myths and legends. Each element has a symbolism which can create a complex story once mixed with other elements. For example: certain type of flowers or animals can be used to symbolize a loved one. Also different stories can be used to represent certain moments in one’s life, like a dragon represents perseverance. This style is typically used in a body-suit-like fashion, but it can also be done in a smaller and simpler tattoo.

New School – Cartoon

NEW SCHOOL – CARTOON

underline

This style has been influenced by Traditional tattoos and is more focused on a caricatural aesthetic by mixing exaggerated proportions with the use of a bright and vivid color palette. There’s a lot of graffiti, comics and an overall cartoonish approach.

Neo Traditional

NEO TRADITIONAL

underline

This style of tattooing takes everything from the Old Traditional styles but brings it to another level with a more illustrative side, more realistic shading, more depth and a bigger yet still neutral color pallet.

Ornamental

ORNAMENTAL

underline

This style is based on decorative designs. Instead of having a main subject, different thickness in lines and the body flow are used to accentuate the bearer’s body. Usually done in black ink, ornamental tattoos are mandalas, laces, geometric, filigree, geometric designs, shapes, florals, etc…

Blackwork

BLACKWORK

underline

Black work is characterized by the use of bold and black shapes to create various images. You can make any illustrative designs using this style, such as a silhouette or a sketch. On the scale of Blackwork tattoos, you can go from a simple, black triangle to a full, black arm.

Dotwork

DOTWORK

underline

This style is entirely consisted of dots in order to create various designs for your tattoo. It can be used to create depth for a geometric shape or a mandala tattoo, as long as it can showcase details or add shading in an illustrative image.

Lettering

LETTERING

underline

A tattoo doesn’t always have to depict an object or an image. A single word can have a powerful meaning; sentences, initials, dates can also be beautiful tattoos when executed perfectly. Letterings are also a great add-on to emphasize a picture or a symbol. You can go with a classic calligraphy or a custom lettering for a bolder, more unique look.

Old School – Traditional

OLD SCHOOL – TRADITIONAL

underline

This style is the icon of the tattoo industry. Using black outlines, simple shading and a minimal yet bold color palette, these tattoos give a more “flat” impression on the skin.  In this category, we often see classics designs, such as swallows, ship anchors, pin-ups, etc.

Linework – Minimalist

LINEWORK – MINIMALIST

underline

This style uses crisp & black lines, negative spaces and a light color palette to convey a design that’s clean and simple. These designs can be big or small, but the tattoo itself has precise single lines that create a clear overall look. We also use this technique to make funky and fun designs. For those who want an elegant, sleek and subtle tattoo, this style is for you!

Realism

REALISM

underline

In general, the term realism refers to a piece of work that’s precise, detailed and an accurate representation of a real life imagery. This style focuses heavily on shading more than lining. This technique results in tattoos looking like a photograph or realistic 3D objects.

TATOUAGE

-

STYLE DE TATOUAGE

Japonais
New School – Cartoon
Néo Traditionnel
Ornemental
Blackwork
Dotwork
Lettrage
Old School – Traditionnel
Linework – Minimaliste
Réalisme
Japonais

JAPONAIS

underline

La beauté d’un tatouage style Japonais est que tout est codé à l’aide de symboles, de mythes et de légendes. Chaque élément a une symbolique et lorsque plusieurs d’entre eux sont rassemblés, ils forment un tout, une histoire. Par exemple, certaines sortes de fleurs ou certains animaux peuvent être utilisés pour représenter un être cher ou un évènement donné dans la vie d’un tel; on utilise un dragon pour représenter la persévérance. Ce style est souvent utilisé dans le but de recouvrir le corps en entier, mais il est aussi possible de faire des pièces plus simples et petites.

New School – Cartoon

NEW SCHOOL – CARTOON

underline

Ce style a été influencé par le style traditionnel, or, celui-ci est plutôt axé sur l’aspect caricatural en usant de couleurs vives et de l’exagération des proportions d’un ou plusieurs éléments. On y retrouve souvent le style graffiti, le style bande-dessiné, bref, une approche plus «cartoon».

Néo Traditionnel

NÉO TRADITIONNEL

underline

Ce style de tatouage reprend tous les aspects d’un tatouage traditionnel, or il l’amène à un autre niveau à l’aide d’une approche plus illustrative avec des jeux d’ombrages plus réels, avec plus de profondeur et avec une plus grande variété de couleurs, mais qui demeurent tout de même neutres.

Ornemental

ORNEMENTAL

underline

Le style ornemental est basé sur l’aspect décoration. À la place d’avoir une idée principale, c’est l’utilisation de différentes grosseurs de lignes et les courbes du corps qui accentuera celui de la personne qui portera ces tatouages. Habituellement fait avec de l’encre noir, les tatouages ornementaux englobent les mandalas, l’effet dentelle, les formes géométriques, les fioritures, etc.

Blackwork

BLACKWORK

underline

Le style Blackwork est caractérisé par l’utilisation d’intenses formes noires pour créer diverses images. Il est possible de créer des illustrations avec ce style, comme des silhouettes ou un croquis. Avec un tatouage Blackwork, il y a deux extrémités, passant d’un simple triangle noir à un bras complètement noir.

Dotwork

DOTWORK

underline

Ce style consiste entièrement en l’utilisation de points pour créer diverses conceptions pour votre tatouage. Cette technique est utilisée pour rajouter de la profondeur en pointillisme à une forme géométrique, à un mandala ou à n’importe quel tatouage.

Lettrage

LETTRAGE

underline

Un tatouage n’est pas toujours obligé de peindre une image ou un objet. Un seul mot peut avoir une signification importante; des phrases, des initiales ou des dates peuvent aussi être de magnifiques tatouages lorsqu’exécutés avec précision. Les lettrages sont aussi une bonne addition afin de mettre l’accent sur une image ou un symbole. Vous pouvez y aller avec la classique calligraphie délicate ou avec un lettrage «custom» pour un style plus audacieux et unique.

Old School – Traditionnel

OLD SCHOOL - TRADITIONNEL

underline

Ce style est l’icône de l’art du tatouage. C’est avec l’utilisation de contours noirs, un simple ombrage et une palette de couleurs simples et neutres que ces tatouages donneront l’impression d’être «plats» sur la peau. On retrouve dans cette catégorie les tatouages classiques tels que les hirondelles, les ancres à bateau, les pin-ups, etc.

Linework – Minimaliste

LINEWORK – MINIMALISTE

underline

Utilisant principalement de l’encre noire, ces styles donneront un tout pur et simple. Ces tatouages peuvent être autant exhaustifs que petits et discrets, mais le dessin en lui-même possède des lignes singulières et précises pour que le résultat final soit impeccablement précis. Il est possible aussi de faire des designs funky et drôle tel que des personnages. Pour ceux qui veulent un tatouage élégant et subtil, ce style est fait pour vous!

Réalisme

RÉALISME

underline

De manière générale, le terme «réalisme» réfère à une pièce qui est précise, détaillée et qui rend justice à une réelle photo ou image donnée. Ce style utilise beaucoup de contraste à l’aide d’ombrage plutôt que de lignage. C’est cette technique qui fait en sorte que le résultat d’un tatouage réaliste ressemble à une photographie ou à un objet en 3D.